Fears

2388729165_844f74a964_o.jpg

*CC photograph by Ken Funakoshi

Lanterns are often seen as a symbol of a light in a darkness – something to help guide your way when all is unknown.

It is interesting how everyone has their own unique fears, yet , also uniquely, people are able to find ways to cope with them everyday. They are able to look through the dark for a lantern, or their way of getting over their fear, and utilize it to help them out of the darkness.

Perhaps my fear of the dark relates more to this idea than most – being irrationally afraid of the absence of light is truly difficult. Darkness is found everywhere, so I am forced to face my fears everyday. What I don’t understand is why I haven’t been able to find my lantern yet. Maybe if I’ve been in the dark long enough I’ll find it eventually, and the dark wont be a fear anymore.

Leave a Reply

